Minggu, 17 Agustus 2008

Stanford University


Motto in (German): Die Luft der Freiheit weht
Motto in English: The wind of freedom blows

The Leland Stanford Junior University, commonly known as Stanford University or simply Stanford, is one of the world's leading research and teaching institutions, located approximately 37 miles (60 km) southeast of San Francisco and approximately 20 miles (32 km) northwest of San Jose in Stanford, California, United States. Stanford is situated adjacent to the city of Palo Alto, on the San Francisco Peninsula. It also operates the Hopkins Marine Station in Pacific Grove, California, in Monterey Bay.

Stanford was founded in 1885 by the former governor of California, Leland Stanford, who then became a U.S. Senator, and his wife, Jane Lathrop Stanford, as a memorial to their only son, Leland Stanford Jr., who died of typhoid in Europe a few weeks before his 16th birthday. The Stanfords used their farm lands to create the university, and hoped to establish a major research university in the West, the first of its kind. From its beginnings, Stanford has always been innovative and unlike the great Ivy League schools of the east; the Stanfords emphasized a well-balanced, liberal arts education rather than pragmatism that would allow students to become productive citizens. In addition, the university was established as a co-educational institution, enrolling both male and female students.

Stanford enrolls about 6,700 undergraduates from all over the United States and the world, as well as about 8,000 graduate students. There are approximately over 160,000 living Stanford alumni, both undergraduate and graduate. [6]There are also 18 Nobel Prize laureates affiliated with Stanford. The University, because of its close location to Silicon Valley, offers strong programs in business management and engineering; many Stanford alumni have founded companies associated with technology, such as HP and Google. It is also known as a highly selective school, with competitive admissions cycles. It currently ranks as the 4th best university for undergraduates in the annual U.S. News and World Report best colleges list.

Writer and Alumni from Stanford University

at The Seminar "How to get Scholarship in USA"


Sheffield University

The University of Sheffield is a research university, located in Sheffield in South Yorkshire, England. It is one of the original 'red brick' universities and a member of the Russell Group.

Motto: Latin: Rerum cognoscere causas

Motto in English: To discover the causes of things




The University of Sheffield was originally formed by the merger of three colleges. The Sheffield School of Medicine was founded in 1828, followed in 1879 by the opening of Firth College by Mark Firth, a steel manufacturer, to teach arts and science subjects. Firth College then helped to fund the opening of the Sheffield Technical School in 1884 to teach applied science, the only major faculty the existing colleges did not cover. The three institutions merged in 1897 to form the University College of Sheffield.[3] Sheffield is one of the six original red brick universities.

Victoria University

It was originally envisaged that the University College would join Manchester, Liverpool and Leeds as the fourth member of the federal Victoria University.

Royal Charter

However, the Victoria University began to split-up before this could happen and so the University College of Sheffield received its own Royal Charter in 1905 and became the University of Sheffield.

From 200 full-time students in 1905, the University grew slowly until the 1950s and 1960s when it began to expand rapidly. Many new buildings (including the famous Arts Tower) were built and student numbers increased to their present levels of over 20,000. In 1987 the University began to collaborate with its once would-be partners of the Victoria University by co-founding the Northern Consortium; a coalition for the education and recruiment of international students.

In 1995, the University took over the Sheffield and North Trent College of Nursing and Midwifery, which greatly increased the size of the medical faculty. In 2005, the South Yorkshire Strategic Health Authority announced that it would split the training between Sheffield and Sheffield Hallam University - however, the University decided to pull out of providing preregistration nursing and midwifery training due to "costs and operational difficulties".[4]

Over the years, the University has been home to a number of notable writers and scholars, including the literary critic William Empson, who was head of the Department of English; author Angela Carter; five Nobel Prize winners; and Bernard Crick.

Department of Physics and Astronomy

Visit us at;


Our department offers a broad range of subjects across the whole spectrum of modern physics and astronomy.

We are committed to providing high quality teaching and research in a lively, creative environment.

· We achieved an "excellent" grading in our subject review run by the Quality Assurance Agency.

· In the most recent Research Assessment Exercise we were scored 5 (on a scale of 1-5*).

· Our staff are engaged in a wide variety of research, with a high publications output.

More about research

PhD vacancies

Find out about undergraduate courses

Postgraduate admissions - apply online now

Andrea Hirata (the author of tetra logy Laskar Pelangi )

from Indonesia One of Alumni From Department of Economic

Sheffield University U.K.

Andrea Hirata! the author of novels Laskar Pelangi, Sang Pemimpi, Edensor, dan Maryamah Karpov.

For More just click it!